TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Remember! TeamCapri is a donation driven site. There are no ads here!

Author Topic: Air Bag concern with Bumper Removal??  (Read 3870 times)

CapriProject

Air Bag concern with Bumper Removal??
« on: October 12, 2010, 01:16:00 PM »

I would like to hear from someone who has removed their front bumper as to what needs to be 'watched-out-for' reguarding the Air Bag system. I don't want to set it off by screwing-up some sensor. (Non-Turbo '91 Capri)  Thanks

Surfnut

« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2010, 02:03:00 PM »

I'm no expert but when I pulled the front fascia off my '91 Turbo there was nothing to it - with the exception of a lot of rusted bolts which ended up breaking off.

I don't recall any airbag stuff attached to the fascia.  I'm pretty sure those sensors are attached to the frame/body shell.

Dave

Rocketman

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • 91 BPT AWD Capri & 1991 XR2
    • http://www.werbatfik.com
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2010, 02:52:00 PM »

The sensors are all inside the body.
1.8L Turbo All Wheel Drive Capri... the "GTXR2"

CapriProject

« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2010, 05:51:00 PM »

Great... Thanks.
I won't have to take it easy when I remove the plastic front parts.

Rocketman

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • 91 BPT AWD Capri & 1991 XR2
    • http://www.werbatfik.com
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2010, 06:30:00 PM »

The plastic will not come off by itself, the whole bumper assembly must be removed.

Its 3x or 4x 13mm bolts on each side of the bumper stanchions, and i think 2x 10mm bolts on each side which fasten the plastic to the fender. Start soaking the side bolts in penetrant now, they bolt into clips on the inner plastics, and any bit of resistance or rust will tear them out of the plastic.