TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Remember! TeamCapri is a donation driven site. There are no ads here!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Hello there, newbie here  (Read 5784 times)

delhiboy3732

Hello there, newbie here
« on: August 13, 2009, 10:55:00 PM »

I just bought this XR2 for $900.

http://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/cto/1317648897.html

Its in great condition for its age. It does need a new CV joint, not sure 1 or both.

There is a bearing noise when the motor is running. The owner described it as a noise from the AC cluth but I think its mainly from the alternator bearing or could be the AC cluth bearing too.

When I took the test drive, there is a lot of noise that comes from the front, from my past experience it seems like its differential bearings are shot.

It would defnitely need a new valve cover gasket.

First things first, would change the engine oil and the tranny oil with synthetic. Fix the valve cover gasket and finally raise the boost to 10 psi with an ebay FMIC.

Any thoughts about the issues mentioned would be greatly appreciated.

CapriTypeR

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • http://Roo-Sport.com
Hello there, newbie here
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2009, 05:49:00 AM »

Welcome to the forum! You'll have to post your own pictures, as the person who sold the car to you has deleted the craigslist ad!

I fully agree with you on the use of synthetics, and highly recommend using Amsoil products. Their marketing strategy sucks, but the product is top-of-the-line!
Also, in addition to the FMIC, get a RocketChip, and a MBC! You'll be able to boost much more than the 10 your aiming for!

Either way, any running XR2 that can be bought for $900 is a steal!  Good Job!

--Russ
Need parts?? Go to http://www.Roo-Sport.com
for the worlds largest selection
of new and used Capri parts!

delhiboy3732

Hello there, newbie here
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2009, 07:45:00 AM »