TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

If you've registered make sure emails from TeamCapri are not landing in your spam folder!

Author Topic: 93 NA capri no power to injectors  (Read 4533 times)

mheinze

93 NA capri no power to injectors
« on: December 12, 2011, 09:12:00 AM »

My 93 Capri won't start ran fine for weeks after a tune up now there isn't power to the injectors... car starts on starter fluid and fuel is coming out of the filter with hose disconnected... I'm fairly new to the Capri scene just wanted to figure this out the car ran great before this!!

Rocketman

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • 91 BPT AWD Capri & 1991 XR2
    • http://www.werbatfik.com
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2011, 11:58:00 AM »

Hmm that's a tough one.

I'd check all your fuses, for good measure. Engine bay block as well as under dash.

-Are you positive the fuel pump is running while cranking? Check the rollover safety switch in the trunk.

-Did the injector harness separate at the connector in the engine bay?

-Check the plugs on the ECU under the passenger side kick panel. Are they in there securely? Is the ECU wet or look water damaged?

-Do the injectors fire? (use a noidlight or feel them for clicking when cranking)

When was the fuel filter replaced?

Your distributor & ignitor are good, because you have spark & the car runs with starting fluid. It's a fuel delivery issue either with the pump or with the ECU failing to fire the injectors.
1.8L Turbo All Wheel Drive Capri... the "GTXR2"

mheinze

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2011, 03:42:00 PM »

great tips I will be checking all of those in the morning! the wierdest thing is this happened once before and I left the key on and the battery died cause it wouldn't start... I towed it back into the shop with the tractor and charged the battery for a couple hours and it started right up?!?! get that I will update in the morning, thanks for the help