TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Summer will be upon us soon! Make sure you check the Meets subforum to see if there's a get-together near you!

Author Topic: My turbo knowledge..  (Read 3077 times)

jbump

My turbo knowledge..
« on: March 07, 2012, 04:15:00 AM »

Okay! So I am still pretty new to this turbo stuff, but I've done a lot of reading. My basic understanding is that somewhere the exhaust pressure builds up, causing the wastegate to open and spin a turbine. This turbine pushes/pulls air into the engine to give your gas more kick.       And to install an Boost controller (manual ball spring in my case) You put it in the intake line that goes to the wastegate. This makes it so the wastegate won't do any creeping/dumping/opening until the set psi is reached.    A BOV is for (more or less) sounding cool, until you reach a higher boost level. Then it allows all the gasses to be vented to air (in my case again) instead of trying to go back out the intake spin the turbine the wrong way.    And installing a BOV was too confusing for 2am last night so the only thing I got was finding the stock bypass valve and essentially sticking the BOV to where it went. An FMIC (with bigger pipes) Is a device to cool air causing the molecules to shrink together allowing even more than the bigger pipes allowed into the turbo which makes it kick even harder.    

Now I'm confused about is that I was told an intercooler causing more strain on the engine/turbo.   This is because of too much air and running hotter?    I also read that a ball spring style BC causes more strain on the engine as it doesn't allow the gradual boost creep that a bleeder or the current stock bypass valve.  

Am I mostly right? Lol  I'm probably forgetting a lot, I only had 4 hours of sleep.

Rocketman

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • 91 BPT AWD Capri & 1991 XR2
    • http://www.werbatfik.com
My turbo knowledge..