TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

If you've registered make sure emails from TeamCapri are not landing in your spam folder!

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Replacing an engine  (Read 14577 times)

rcdraco

Replacing an engine
« on: May 18, 2011, 02:35:00 PM »

How hard is it to swap the engine on my capri, since my engine is too past it to recover it.  I found a cheap salvage title XR2, with low miles.  

I've never done work like this before, but I know plenty of people who have.  I have access to anything I might need: crane, stand, and all the tools to disassemble the engine.

The only thing I see as a problem is the transmission, do you recommend keeping the original in, or use the donor transmission?

Rocketman

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • 91 BPT AWD Capri & 1991 XR2
    • http://www.werbatfik.com
Replacing an engine
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 02:49:00 PM »

How is your engine "too past it" ? I still don't understand exactly what is wrong with your car, I thought it was electrical issues?

At any rate swapping motors is super easy. You could go with either trans - which is in better shape? clutch condition? I'd be a good time to freshen things up while it's out.

-Timing Belt
-Water Pump
-Rear Main Seal
-Clutch

For the price of gas I'm willing to come down & help ya
1.8L Turbo All Wheel Drive Capri... the "GTXR2"

rcdraco

Replacing an engine
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 02:56:00 PM »

Mine blew the headgasket, and after all that it still has 100k on the block, low compression, and all sorts of electrical gremlins to boot.

I'm thinking I'm gonna be able to pick the car up for $600 easy, since it's of no value to me as a car being almost impossible to register here.

Belt and Water pump are at my work luckily, the other 2 can't run too expensive, since I get a pretty nice discount and heaps of places to find parts.

Shocker

Replacing an engine