TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New & potential members - due to overwhelming spam registrations, it's been very hard to sort through new registrations. If your account has not been approved, check your spam folder! If not please contact us at admin[AT]teamcapri.com and we'll sort it out for you.

Author Topic: Two Questions re: Transmission and belts  (Read 2262 times)

herdfan75

• 94 Capri XR2
Two Questions re: Transmission and belts
« on: October 21, 2013, 09:05:53 AM »

Hi folks,

I have a 94 XR2 that I recently purchased.  This is my second Capri, but first XR2.

First, the transmission makes a slight "whine" noise in all gears. If I recall correctly, my first Capri did the same thing. It doesn't sound abnormal, but there is enough noise to notice it.  Is there a place to check the differential fluid? Does the gear box use gear oil? (I am a pretty decent shadetree mechanic on just about anything, particularly VW beetles, so I can find my way around a car).

Second, one of the belts screams loudly when pulling out.  I thought it was the air conditioning belt as it seemed to do it worse with the defroster on, but now I'm not so sure. Does the compressor cycle in all positions, or just the defroster (and of course, when the air is used)?  I plan to just find the belt that's loose and tighten it, but haven't even had time to check to see if there's a tensioner on the belts, or if they can be tightened up.

Other than these two minor things, the car is awesome.  I just need to know what to watch on these cars maintenance wise.  I do have the original oweners manuals, and the PO gave me all of his shop manuals, as he's getting out of the Capri business, so I do have those resources.  I just wanted to consult the experts here for any tips/tricks because I want the car to last a long time.

Thanks!

Rocketman

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • 91 BPT AWD Capri & 1991 XR2